An Easy Way to Increase Your Tank's pH with a CO2 Scrubber

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself (DIY)' started by CJO, Mar 9, 2011.

  1. jason2459

    jason2459 Not a paid scientist R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    2,776
    Likes Received:
    1,372
    Well, to be clear CO2 has everything to do with pH. There was just something that interfered with allowing the CO2 scrubber you used from removing enough CO2 from your tank for you to notice a difference. Do you have a lot of surface agitation? CO2 in your house could be extremely high. You can do an aerating cup pH test with it in your house for at least 15 minutes. And then take outside for at least 15 minutes.

    I'm not very familiar with Ca reactors as I've never needed to use one but couldn't they also potentially drive down pH?

    How fast did the Sodalime change colors to purple? You should easily start seeing a change at the bottom in a couple hours. My BRS reactor full of sodalime lasts a few days to a week depending on how much air flow I dial it in to.
     
  2. neuwave

    neuwave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Tampa

    Jason is correct that CO2 directly impacts your ph. From the looks of it your not having enough air contact time with the media. Especially with that high of a air flow between 650 to 900 lph. Since we don't know what level of co2 is present in your house we have to estimate. The speed of the air flowing over your media and contact time the air has with the media. I would have suggested with your setup to use two canisters piped in parallel. Allowing for more contact time.

    Here is an example setup.

    [​IMG]

    Connection of canisters:
    [​IMG]
     
  3. jepuskar

    jepuskar New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am currently running a CO2 scrubber from BRS, single canister, using it inline with my airline ran from the inside. Gives me another .1 - .15 increase in PH so I run 8.2 with a CO2 level of 1000ppm in the house...not to bad.
    The OP mention AirGas...I just called my local Airgas store and they had no idea what I was talking about. Where do you guys get yours? The 1 canister lasted a week, even with ~300ppm Co2 running through it. I do run my skimmer 24/7, so I'm looking to source this cheaper.

    Thanks,
     
    frenchie01 likes this.
  4. Aceone

    Aceone Well-Known Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Pembroke Pines
    I get the 3lbs bags at shopmedvet.com at $8.95. I usually get 6 and last about 3-4 months. Anywhere cheaper please let me know LOL
     
  5. jason2459

    jason2459 Not a paid scientist R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    2,776
    Likes Received:
    1,372
  6. jason2459

    jason2459 Not a paid scientist R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    2,776
    Likes Received:
    1,372
     
  7. neuwave

    neuwave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2011
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Tampa
    That's a pretty good price. Roughly w/shipping that's $2.62 a pound. As long the 5 gallon totals 37lbs of media. Air as has told me a couple years ago they were no longer selling the sodalime and selling off their remaining stock. Wish they didn't because once I get was able to haggle the price down to $60 for a 5 gallon bucket (37lbs). They never had a solid set price. Sometimes you can find eBay sale for 32lbs with free shipping which comes out to $2.50 a lb.
     
  8. Trizzino

    Trizzino Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Alpharetta, GA
    I will be converting my extra TLF phosban reactor into a co2 reactor after reading through this thread. I'm interested to see how it goes!
     
  9. Ponraj A

    Ponraj A Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Coimbatore
    Hi all,
    I was running and CO2 scrubber in my phosban reactor and now the problem is I have changed my skimmer from SRO 3000 to Skimz SN163 only due to the DC motor purpose. Now I dont know how to connect it to the air intake as it has a screw in the top. Anyone having any suggestion on how to connect it with the CO2 scrubber or shall i connect the motor air intake directly to the CO2 scrubber. Please help.
    Skimz SM-163.jpg
     
  10. Aceone

    Aceone Well-Known Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Pembroke Pines
    Just take the screw out and attach the hose of the scrubber to it.
     
    Ponraj A likes this.
  11. Rick Mathew

    Rick Mathew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    54
    Location:
    North Central Florida
  12. randyBRS

    randyBRS Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Gold Sponsors

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    240
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    Alternatively, you can remove the silencer entirely and run the air line directly to the scrubber. The scrubber is a pretty effective silencer itself. Plus, if you throw a ball valve somewhere on the line it will be just as adjustable as the throttle screw on the silencer :)
     
    gettaReef and Ponraj A like this.
  13. Ponraj A

    Ponraj A Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Coimbatore
    Hi Thank you for the suggestion, I will install it in this ways as it looks much better.
     
  14. Ponraj A

    Ponraj A Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Coimbatore
    Thank you for your suggestion and support.
     

Share This Page

Loading...