Are skimmers necessary?

Camrea47

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Are skimmers necessary for a marine tank?
I'm new to marine tanks and was wondering if you need one?
I'm looking at 2 different tanks and both come a sump with room for one but I have no idea if they are needed .
The 1st tank is a red sea reefer 170 and the 2nd is an aqua one aquareef 275. They are both around the same price at my LFS so I'll probably go with the bigger 275 which does come with a skimmer but I've read it is a poor quality one.

Any help on this would be appreciated, thanks!

Joey waid

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm looking at 2 different tanks and both come a sump with room for one but I have no idea if they are needed .
The 1st tank is a red sea reefer 170 and the 2nd is an aqua one aquareef 275. They are both around the same price at my LFS so I'll probably go with the bigger 275 which does come with a skimmer but I've read it is a poor quality one.

I have had tanks that ran for years with out them. Saying that it's a lot nicer to have one. A whole lot nicer!!

Sabellafella

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
5   0   0

Its not necessary, you can just make up for it with better husbandry. Also keep in mind, forbid if any contaminants get into your tank, the skimmer will pull all that junk right out.

MaddyP

'Til Reefdom Come...
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I agree with above...they aren't needed, however, they infinitely make tank maintenance easier. If it's a value vs cost thing, I'd say it's worth it.

cowboy

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0