Building a stand and sump

Be102

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This should be fun. I was sitting around thinking all day about building a stand for my 65 gallon tank, considering my current stand doesn't have enough room as I would like for a sump underneath. I originally was thinking of doing a 20l underneath but now that I was looking at dimensions.. I think I am going to make it so it can hold a 40b underneath the tank. I know a 65 gallon tank might look a little funny on a larger stand.. But I have an evil master plan that I think will work.

After realizing that a 40b, 75g and 120 gallon are all fairly similar in size, I decided to make the stand large enough for the 40gallon sump, and then in the future, if and when I can be convincing enough to need an upgrade, it will literally be as simple as removing stuff from the tank into buckets, taking the tank off the stand and putting the new tank on top of it. So realistically it will just be a physically larger tank, rather than a larger footprint/setup in general.

I would like to make this stand out of 2x4s with some sort of plywood as the siding. I am thinking about leaving the siding as removable sides, or possibly adding some doors. But I think the removable sides will be best for maintenance and accessibility in the long run. I am not too handy at these sort of things, and actually this will be my very first time trying this out.. it doesn't look too difficult however and I feel it will be very rewarding to say that I built it myself.