Diagnose my Firefish!

Rython

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sorry guys, i'm a total novice. I can usually find something doing google or forum searches but i'm not confident I know the answer here. For your convenience, the context is in italics, or you can skip to the question in Bold.

Context:

I quarantined my firefish (first fish) doing TTM for 12 days. I administered 2 doses of Prazipro (on days 3 and 9), 15 days of paraguard, and going on 2 weeks of observation after all that. The QTs are 10g tanks with a heater and airstone and some pvc elbows. After meds were finished I added a powerhead with filterpad around the intake to reduce the flow (and suck in some muck) and started doing a 20% water change every 3 days. I have rotated 4 different foods and he eats them all (LRS, OVA, New Life Spectrum and PE pellets).

After the paraguard, I noticed he was flashing every once in a while for a couple of days. I haven't seen him do it in 3 or 4 days now though. He may have been irritated because a heater failed the night before the last tank transfer and the temp got down to 68 degrees. Since then, I thought maybe Ammonia got too high, because I got a little bit of smoke in the water, which I read was a bacterial bloom. Seachem and API were only reading 0.05 ammonia, and nitrite was never very high. I dosed prime every two days just to be sure. Maybe that was irritating him. Ammonia and Nitrite are now reading 0.

My questions:

Mostly I want to ask about the tilt he seems to have. He leans about 5 to 10 degrees to one side most of the time. Is this just something firefish do or is something wrong with him. I've seen swim bladder disease in my goldfish but they were way more off balance.