Electrical Safety: GFCI, AFCI, Ground Probes

Turbo's Aquatics

Super Duper Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Here is a write-up regarding Electrical Safety that was posted on our local club forum, I'm interested in any comments, corrections, or suggestions to this. I think it's pretty spot on, I'm an Electrical Engineer myself but that doesn't mean I am an Electrician.

Perhaps I can get a review on this from the Resident Electricians, the ones who were active in the Sticky Thread Your Resident Electrician for all your electrical questions! don't seem to be active anymore unless I missed one

Clarification of terms:

Receiving a "Shock" or "Small Shock" before a circuit protection device (such as a GFCI) kicks in and trips the circuit offline is not just like a prick of the finger, it will definitely get your attention. While it is highly unlikely that this shock will kill you, that doesn't mean it won't (I think of conditions like having a pacemaker or a specific health condition, or just flat out bad luck...anything is possible).

Getting electrocuted generally means the opposite: it's highly likely that this can/will kill you, and if you've been electrocuted and have lived to tell the tale, you can attest to this. I have a friend who got hit with 220V working on a stove and convulsed hard enough to break away from the circuit - lucky. When you stick your hand in a tank that is electrified and not protected, and you get electrocuted, it's probably more likely that your body will break away because you aren't holding on to a live wire that your muscles can't let go of...but that's only if you happen to fall away from the tank - if you fall toward it or into it - unlucky. You might as well be holding on to a live wire.

So if you choose to not run a GFCI at all, or maybe just not on the return pump - just make sure you understand the risk you are taking.

-------------------