few questions while new tank is cycling

motortrendz

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
first, I'm not new, just moved into my new house and started a new tank... heres my specs

I reused dried rock from my old system with new sand, tank is about 90 gallons twv corner bow..
I have a diablo 200 skimmer, dual 4inch filter socks, a carbon reactor from mrc and a vertec 1.5l zeo reactor

this is my first time using hydra 26 led lights (3 units over the tank)

I use the spectra pure max cap 180 ro di system(all new filters and reading zero tds) and red sea pro reef salt

so I did the zeo 14 day cycle, and on the 10th day it says to add a fish and a few inverts which I did, all the while testing the water as I go.. fish seems very healthy and happy and most of my parameters are looking great meaning zero ammonia, <5 nitrates.. but my po4 is between .35 and .45 (fluctuates on the hanna egg)

yesterday I started getting a brown diatom coating on everything which I know is normal for a cycling tank, but everything was covered in bubbles which ive never seen in a cycle before..

1. normal? or is there something else going on?
2. I apparently have p04 getting through my ro di system into my tank, what can I do to reduce this ..

thanks
mike

120reefkeeper

Reef keeping with Military Precision!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
first, I'm not new, just moved into my new house and started a new tank... heres my specs

I reused dried rock from my old system with new sand, tank is about 90 gallons twv corner bow..
I have a diablo 200 skimmer, dual 4inch filter socks, a carbon reactor from mrc and a vertec 1.5l zeo reactor

this is my first time using hydra 26 led lights (3 units over the tank)

I use the spectra pure max cap 180 ro di system(all new filters and reading zero tds) and red sea pro reef salt