Fish Kill Off

Crazieveggie

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm new to R2R. I don't usually ask questions unless I have no idea. I have had a reef tank for the better part of 15 years and took a break for a few. Just got back into in last March.

I'm looking for ideas as to why I got back from a 9 day vacation (Got to hit up WWC in Orlando though) and every fish is dying or dead. I'm at a loss. Naso Tang, 4 Yellow Tangs, Kole Tang, Cleaner Wrasse, 4 Clownfish (TR), neon dottyback (TR).... Still living is a 1 Sailfin Tang 1 yellow tang and 2 Flame Wrasse.

All of my corals (Acan's, RBTA's, Birdsnest, War Coral's, and Goniopora) all look perfect.
All snails, conchs, starfish and 2 Urchins perfect.

Tank Size is 450 Gallons
Temp has been Consistent 79
PH 7.86
Salt 34 ppm
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 0
Ammonia 0 yesterday .25 today but I haven't found the dead XL Naso and 2 Yellow Tangs.

I can't think of anything that could cause this yet not affect corals and inverts....

Any help or ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Brew12

Electrical Gru
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I feel terrible that you are going through this.

Any symptoms on your fish that survived? Are they showing any signs of stress?

melypr1985

totally addicted
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What was the last wet thing you added to the tank (fish, coral, inverts, macro algae) and when did you add them? What is your QT regimen? These questions in addition to the others already asked.

OP
OP
Crazieveggie

Crazieveggie

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
They same to be hiding, if that is a symptom.

I think that an eye on the sailfin and eye on the yellow tang are cloudy. They first Yellow tang is before it died.

20161127_101320_resized.jpg

20161129_103823_resized.jpg

20161129_103844_resized.jpg

OP
OP
Crazieveggie

Crazieveggie

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0