How should I plumb a fuge into existing set up?

Nate82

Paitence Sucks...
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys,

I want to add a refugium to my existing and running display/sump. The fuge is going to be 5.5g and I'm thinking lit by LEDs. I was thinking about T-ing off my overflow with a ball valve on the pipe to the fuge so I can control flow, and the excess will go into the sump. I would drill the fuge and have it overflow into the sump. I'm pretty new to plumbing and not really sure if this is even the best way to do it.

I was also thinking about just putting a maxijet in the fuge and having it run independantly, but I'd really rather avoid another pump. My electric bill is already through the roof, and with such a small tank I'd rather not have a maxijet in there for spacial reasons.

I'm hoping someone with a little more experience has some insight or ideas. Ideally I'd like to somehow force the skimmer's output to the fuge so I can get all these micro bubbles out of my display.

Here's how it's set up now.
2c537165.jpg

Here's how it fits with the 5.5g
58e4eb6b.jpg

I was thinking about raising it, for overflow purposes but it's really cramped down there like that. I'd like to avoid doing this if possible, but it's not the biggest deal.
521beccc.jpg

Thanks for any input!
Nate

Salty Dog

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
so your going to add another small tank for the fuge right. I would get the water to flow thru the fuge last then back into your display. BTW damm that tattoo must have hurt+

you could always drill a bulk head into both the sump into the right side of the new tank for water in, then drill another bulk head on the left side into your sump where the pump is. That will pull the water from your sump thru the fuge back into your pump. Only real issue is you will bypasds some water from your skimmer

Last edited:

beaslbob

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0