How to preserve body for autopsy?

GHsaltie

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I know this isn't really disease related but I just had a yellow tang pass away that is showing red streaks, it's the second one today with these symptoms. I have acces to a freezer, but would that affect the ease of autopsy? I've never done this before and I want to try it on this fish but I won't be able to autopsy it for about 5 more hours.

Humblefish

Dr. Fish
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
^^ Agree with above; red streaks on a YT could be due to osmotic shock.

OP
OP
GHsaltie

GHsaltie

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It was a batch of 4 that came Thursday. None of them showed any marks until about noon today. The smaller one that died only had a red mark just in front of its scalpel. The other larger one that I'm bringing home with me has streaks along the lateral line and the rear of the anal fin. The system that the tangs went into is kept at 1.019-1.020, the last time I checked the suppliers water it was 1.019. Of course they could have changed there salinity, so it could be osmotic shock. But I'm also looking for an excuse to autopsy a fish :p, so don't bust my bubble! I've never done it before so I'm weirdly nervous and excited. I put the body in the break room fridge until I get off work, I'm not crazy, right? o_O

Robert Vacchiano

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Not sure but years ago had a fish that died from an online store that would replace deed fish and they told me to rap it in a paper towel covered in salt

OP
OP
GHsaltie

GHsaltie

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
While I'm thinking about it, does anyone know of a diagram or guide for fish anatomy and organs that I can access online to use as a reference? lol it's been a couple years since I took that marine biology course back in high school :).

Humblefish

Dr. Fish
View Badges