I'm totally new to saltwater

Susan Edwards

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My name is Susan and I've had freshwater tanks in the past and am embarking on a reef tank. My future son in law--I hope--has a 500 gal saltwater and I love it so much, I decided to come back to the fish world. My dau has a 50 gal.

I just snagged from Craigslist a brand new Red Sea Max C250. Never been used or had any water in it. Can't believe the deal--like a third of the retail. Right now, it is in garage until I make room for it in my office. That means totally redoing office and getting rid of some furniture. It's a small 10x10 room with lots of stuff!

I'm a full time writer and it will be a pleasure to have a tank in my work space. Bet my cats will love it as well--4 of the 5 have beds across my desk. Right now there are 3 balls of fluff.

I'm researching RO units, ATO's, going to go with dry rock and live sand. Making a list of other equipment I need like nets <g>. The aquarium is plug and play, though I want a few spare parts on hand, like an extra pump or fans. Come summer, will need a chiller as my area gets hot.

Eager to start buying rock and designing my aquascape. I figure I'll take my time and do it right the first time. Won't get it up until after January, I'm sure as I'm finishing a book, have xmas gifts to make, and an office to purge!

Looking forward to checking out this site

helen ann

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi Susan!
Here is a great resource ...
https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/the-supreme-guide-to-setting-up-a-saltwater-reef-aquarium.138750/

Make sure to start a build thread :)

IMG_4786 santa.jpg

Last edited:
OP
OP
Susan Edwards

Susan Edwards

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
OP
OP
Susan Edwards

Susan Edwards

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0