Locations to Collect Chasmodes Blennies?

Josh Carter

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello Reef2Reef Members!

I'm reaching out to all fish lovers out there and more specially blenny lovers. I was wondering if anyone had experience catching Chasmodes blennies and if so how and where did you catch them? I'm a researcher from Texas A&M University studying the genetics of the Chasmodes clade and need to collect them throughout their ranges. I'm looking to collect some Striped blennies (Chasmodes bosquianu) from the east coast and Stretchjaw blenny (Chasmodes longimaxilla) from the northern GoM. I'm willing to drive to any reliable coordinates. I prefer shore-based collecting so any oyster reefs or seagrass beds accessible from shore. I typically dive or snorkel for these fish so as to not impact the reefs and seagrass beds.

If anyone has any reliable information on the whereabouts of these blennies I'd really appreciate it! They are a very understudied group and my aim is to understand why current distributions exist and how C. saburrae and C. longimaxilla interact in their area of range overlap.

If anyone has any questions I'd be happy to answer and elaborate.

Cheers!

Chasmodes

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Josh, I have found them in the Chesapeake Bay near Solomon's Island, Point Lookout (on both sides, in the Bay and in the Potomac River). I've collected them along the beaches next to marsh grass around muddy undercut banks. I've also caught them around dock pilings. I've used several sized dipnets to catch them. The large dipnets work well around piers and pilings, while smaller ones work best around the undercut banks along the beaches. I have yet to collect along an oyster reef. Others have documented catching them in other Bay locations as far North as Baltimore, and also along the backwaters (Assawoman Bay) around Ocean City.