My 85g reef experiment

david p.

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi,

A little bit about me first.
I'm an Engineer, so you will see that in terms of planning and organization, i also have the Engineer syndrome ;) Also have a 9yo boy and a 7yo daughter, and of course my wife tolerate my 'hobbies'.

I started my tank in May 2016, i'm pretty happy that i have waited that long to start a saltwater tank given the expenses related to the hobby, i can now aquire the equipement and live stock that i want.
Initially the project was suppose to be a 72''x24''x24'' freshwater biotope for discuss, i was missing a few inch to get the tank in the basement, so a revisited the options and went 'Why not a reef'.

Set-up and equipment:
85 gal Blau Aquarium
2x Xr30w Pro
2x MP40wQD
Reeflink
Apex controler with AFS & ALD module
40breeder DIY sump
IceCap K-160 skimmer
Evergrow Nova S2 90w LED for the fuge
2xphosban reactor for GFO and carbon.
Kamoer dosing pump (Ca / Alk / Mg);
ATO - Tunze 8555
2x 300w Cobalt aquatic heater
Return pump Jebao 7000 (oversized to feed manifold)
Coralife Turbo twist 18wattts
50GPD RODI

20160430_203924_resized (800x450).jpg

20160501_172608_resized (450x800).jpg

Changed the skimmer for Icecap K-160 since that picture.
20160507_200456_resized (800x450).jpg

The tank/stand/sump
337053-1d2bc4fda16fadb90b12af3d373db200.jpg

I wanted to build an automatic water change and to have a mixing station behind the wall on the back of the tank, that's under my stairs going in the basement. After setting the tank up with RODI system with my RODI water tank, i realized that i don't have the space needed. So the build is pretty much on hold regarding closing the stand / mixing station / water change.