New new.

dingo1799

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys, so I'm new to salt, but ran a freshwater tank for years and had several very happy and fat tiger oscars, that died of old age.

I picked up a 120gal rr setup a couple weeks ago. I had every intention of using it for freshwater, I wanted a overflow/sump system for looks, love the clean look of no filters or other garbage hanging in the tank. I brought it home and started cleaning it out (owner sold house and was trying to sell it BEFORE the house closed but I didn't make it in time and he had to move it himself, so it was a fast and dirty move). After cleaning the tank as much as possible, I started working on the stand, light scuff and some polyurethane (it had some spots on the top rail around the tank where clearcoat was peeling) and stand looks brand spanking new, canopy is next.

Anyway, I started on the sump. Brought it home and 3/4 gallon of vinegar later, it looks like new. And I found a sticker on the side of it, and I find out it's a CPR CY194 wet/dry biofilter. Almost $500 new???!?!,,!,! (what the heck! for some plexiglass? Really?)

So I guess my question is, this filter is rated for 200gal tank, mines a 120, so it should be plenty of filter. I was hoping to have a sump the size of a 40gal tank packed full of bio media, this CPR has a skimmer in it, but not really enough room to pack full of media like I'd hoped, and not really big enough to add enough "buffer" water for me to be comfortable.