New tank cycle - nitrites

Sailbd

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
hey folks - I am a newbie. I've been cycling my tank for three months now. My ammonia is under control but my nitrite spike never dropped. It's a 66 gal tank with large sump. I am using dry rock and sand. My ammonia drops to zero but nitrites have been 5+ for a month, and my nitrates are around 20 ppm. How come the nitrite level never dropped and how do I get it to do so? There is no live stock in the tank. Help is appreciated.

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
OK.

Did you do anything to add bacteria? You might consider getting some rock or mud from another reefer, or using a commercial bacteria product.

That said, nitrite is not very toxic in seawater (it is similar to nitrate, unlike they way nitrite is toxic in freshwater), so it isn't necessarily a problem. :)

domination2580

Reef-a-nator
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would go buy some live bacteria, maybe a piece of live rock. It sounds wrong that nitrite isn't as bad in seawater is that speaking with fish in tank or no fish?

OP
OP
Sailbd

Sailbd

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
OK.

Did you do anything to add bacteria? You might consider getting some rock or mud from another reefer, or using a commercial bacteria product.

That said, nitrite is not very toxic in seawater (it is similar to nitrate, unlike they way nitrite is toxic in freshwater), so it isn't necessarily a problem. :)
Thanks - I've used both Sea Chem and Fluval bacteria in the cycle. Interestingly, the sea Chem must have been dead as I didn't get any response (no nitrites or drop in ammonia). Once I put the Fluval in, I got the nitrite spike and reduction in ammonia. Maybe I'll put some bacteria in and see what happens.

OP
OP
Sailbd

Sailbd

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0