New to hobby and needing help!

jroberts412

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

jroberts412New Member
So I'm kinda new to having an aquarium. This is my first tank, set it up March 2016. I have a hard time keeping corals bright and colorful. Had a handful of fish die. I'd like to try and figure out everything I'm doing wrong so I can make the proper changes the have the tank I dream of!

I test my water every other weekend with water changes every 2-3 weeks. I use tap water with a concentrated conditioner. I'd like to get an RO DI system, which will be my next big purchase towards the tank.

I have a small 2 section sump with bio balls on 1 side and a in tank sump with my return pump on the other side (which I feel creates lots of bubbles to the main display).

I have a recent problem with red algae that started a month or 2 ago. Also, about a month ago I have 3 fish die in a 2 week span (a foxface, kohl tang, and a flame angel)

Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated. I know I'm new and everything has been a work in progress, but feel I might be doing some things wrong and not even aware of it.

Thanks for the help!

14847058467612105878038.jpg

1484705903311-700152639.jpg

1484705959637379122048.jpg

JaimeAdams

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Bio balls and tap water has the ability to lead to high levels of Nitrate. Bio balls are good at converting Ammonia to Nitrite, but don't break down the nitrogen cycle any further. Tap water generally has higher levels of nitrite and nitrate that you are adding to your tank every time you do a water change.

You said that you test your water every two weeks. What are you testing for and what levels do you find on your tests?