Nitrate issues / Vinegar not working

truperc

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been adding Vinegar for 6 months now. I have tried to be patient but I still have Nitrates consistently above 25ppm. I have a 180 gallon tank and another 40 gallons of water in my sump. I have increased the vinegar to 175ml per day. I am scared to do any more than that. The fish and coral seem to be ok still but I don't know what I am doing wrong. Should I be trying a different carbon source? If I do, would I decrease the amount of vinegar at the same time? I have read different carbon sources promote different bacteria. Is that True? Any help would be appreciated. I don't have algae issues and my phosphates are above 1ppm. I have tested other tanks with the test kit and they are reading less than 2ppm, so I know the kit is working correctly.

This tank was set up a year ago when I transferred the contents from my 120 over to the new tank. I never had issues with nitrate in the old tank.

71xlch

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Why are you afraid to dose more? I will say you need to find where the nitrates are coming from as well. If it was from detritus buidlup. Removing it will go a long way.

OP
OP
T

truperc

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have cleaned up all the detritus I could find and I don't feed that much. I am confused as to where they are coming from. What would you say is a safe amount of vinegar to dose daily is? I thought I was dosing a lot more than most people that have had success in reducing nitrates. I thought I should have seen results long ago.

71xlch

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0