Not sure what this is! New to salt

terrell wohlrab

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone! I'm new to salt water tanks(picked my first up last week) along with a bunch of live rock, corals, a pair of fish, and a shrimp! Local salt water store hooked me up with everything I need to get running. The issue I have is a couple days ago I noticed this thing and it has been growing, and moving, over the last couple days and I'm not sure if it's safe or not! Please help

OP
OP
T

terrell wohlrab

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Here's the picture that didn't upload the first time

0120171953.jpg

Cary Meredith

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Aptiasia or glass anemone, want to try and get rid of, I have used a syringe with vinegar to remove or you can use kalk (being new you might not know what that is) There are fish that you can get to remove it as well but wouldn't recommend it.

OP
OP
T

terrell wohlrab

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
yea, im talking about the brown "octopus worm" im going to call it, not the mushrooms on the rock, I have quiet a few of those, and figured they were harmless. all of this came on that 1 piece of rock, ive seen videos of people using syringes to inject lemon juice to kill off unwanted critters. Is this what i have to do?

OP
OP
T

terrell wohlrab

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
ahh, googling aptasia brings up some good pictures to compare it too, that is indeed what it is. Ive looked for 2 days trying to find this myself before i posted on a forum asking a question thats probably been asked 100 times before

Frop

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I usually pick my rock out of the water. Then super glue him to the rock (he will retract so basically you are sealing him closed). Usually if you do that the superglue will always show on the rock FYI.

Dtfnemo

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0