Odd findings on zoa?

Faygoaddict

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm new to corals, and I just recently bought a shell from a LFS that's covered in button polyps (from what I've been told) and a few other things on it that I'm trying to identify. I just noticed tonight two small balls on the shell? One is fully white, and the other has a bit of black in it. Both are covered in bumps and have what look like spikes. The other hitchhiker is small and closes up like my button polyps, but has tentacles almost and is green. Could someone help me figure out what these are? Thanks!

20170208_220555.jpg

20170206_173411.jpg

Maritimer

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You've definitely got a couple of little sponges there - they're cool, and not a problem unless they start to smother your zoas. Don't expose them to air - if it gets trapped inside them, they're in big trouble . . .

The green guy hiding behind the sponge is a different story ... without a better look at him, it could be a mojano anemone. They're one of the better-looking pest anemones, but still considered a pest by most.

~Bruce

OP
OP
Faygoaddict

Faygoaddict

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You've definitely got a couple of little sponges there - they're cool, and not a problem unless they start to smother your zoas. Don't expose them to air - if it gets trapped inside them, they're in big trouble . . .

The green guy hiding behind the sponge is a different story ... without a better look at him, it could be a mojano anemone. They're one of the better-looking pest anemones, but still considered a pest by most.

~Bruce
Is there anything I need to do for the sponges? The little green one is hiding at the moment, so I'll try to upload a better picture asap!

Maritimer

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0