Pairing?

cook77

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Just bought two Midnight Clownfish. They have showed all the signs. So I went ahead and bought a pot. They guard it and swim around the edges. If one swims around the tank, one will stay at the pot. But there is not fry. Do I think of this as they're just hosting or are they trying to find a spot for fry? I'm new to this. So all information is great.

IMG_1482282199.760765.jpg

wkscott

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ocellaris clownfish pair very easily, even the tiniest ones will do this. How large are the clowns? If you just got them, I'm guessing that they are still juveniles and both are still male. A mature female will be quite a bit larger than the male. If your clowns are about the same size, they won't be ready to breed for a while.

OP
OP
cook77

cook77

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ocellaris clownfish pair very easily, even the tiniest ones will do this. How large are the clowns? If you just got them, I'm guessing that they are still juveniles and both are still male. A mature female will be quite a bit larger than the male. If your clowns are about the same size, they won't be ready to breed for a while.

They're probably inch and a half maybe two. Both about the same size.

wkscott

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
At under 2 inches, they are both males. One of them is going to grow faster than the other and become a female. She'll be ready when she is about 3 inches but this could take another year of maturing. As in all of nature, younger animals have been known to have babies before they are ready.

hqdefault (1).jpg

wkscott

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Setting up dominance can happen at almost any stage of the clowns' development and this dominance can change as the 2 fish grow.

There are 2 terms that can be used here, bonding and pairing.