Selecting lights for 120g tank

CarterJ

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm gonna be setting up a 120g tank in a couple of months and I am lost as to what kind of lighting to purchase for the tank. I am new to the reefing world, I have a 20g fowlr right now that has been up about 6 months. I plan to grow coral, but I haven't decided what specific types yet. I really don't want to spend more than about $400 on lights.
What type of light should I go with? led, t5, or other?
Does the light need to span the entire width of the tank (60") or would a 48" fixture be enough?
There seem to be a lot of options out there, any suggestions on specific fixtures would be greatly appreciated.
Tank dimension
width 60.5"
length 21"
height about 25"
Thanks for the help!

Brew12

Electrical Gru
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm gonna be setting up a 120g tank in a couple of months and I am lost as to what kind of lighting to purchase for the tank. I am new to the reefing world, I have a 20g fowlr right now that has been up about 6 months. I plan to grow coral, but I haven't decided what specific types yet. I really don't want to spend more than about $400 on lights.
What type of light should I go with? led, t5, or other?
Does the light need to span the entire width of the tank (60") or would a 48" fixture be enough?
There seem to be a lot of options out there, any suggestions on specific fixtures would be greatly appreciated.
Tank dimension
width 60.5"
length 21"
height about 25"
Thanks for the help!
It's going to be tough to get good lighting on your tank with a $400 budget. Not saying it can't be done, but it does limit your options. Best bet is probably to keep an eye out for used equipment.

It is important to decide what type of corals you may want to get in the future. That will really set the range on what lighting you want to go with. If you want SPS's you will need more lighting than if you go with softies.