Still fighting this algae issue!!!! I need advice!

Gwitness

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I have posted a couple months ago about this issue and I still have no idea how to get rid of this algae or whatever it is.....
I have a 180 gallon mixed reef with an asm G4+ skimmer....I do 15 gallon a week water changes with Red Sea salt....my parameters are stable, I don't over feed, my nitrates are at 5 (salifert) and phosphates at 0.03-0.06 (Hannah) ....for flow I have an mp40, and 2 jebao rw 20s...

I have 22 fish, mostly smaller or medium sized and couldn't get nitrates under 10 and I thought that is why I had this weird algae covering my rocks...so I have been dosing Red Sea no pox for about 2 months and love it! Got nitrates lower and tank looks great except for the brown stuff covering my rocks still!! As for lights I have 3 radion pros and 2 t5 bulbs...radions max out at 50% and reds only max out at 40% and t5 bulbs are about 3 months old and run for 4hours a day....I also bought a whole new clean up crew 1 month ago and still not any cleaner..

Here are some pics also but I am just at a loss on why and where this algae or whatever it is, is coming from and why it won't go away at all!! Any help would be great or maybe something I am overlooking....thanks in advance

ImageUploadedByREEF2REEF1436038358.457935.jpg
ImageUploadedByREEF2REEF1436038368.691501.jpg
ImageUploadedByREEF2REEF1436038377.449403.jpg

Bugger

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Its hard to tell from the photos take a picture with your lights on. But I am no algae expert

OP
OP
Gwitness

Gwitness

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That is lights on haha ....anytime I take a pic on my phone that's how they turn out...it's so annoying

OP
OP
Gwitness

Gwitness

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0