Uronema Marinum will ruin your day

Reefahholic

Acropora Farmer
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This is by far the worst thing I've delt with. I'm no newbie either.

Anybody care to discuss this jacked up ciliate parasite and it's fission reproduction.

I have yet to get a good school of blue/green Chromis. They always come in with it. I've tried 37% Formalin and Copper at a therapeutic level and it seems to be nearly resistant to everything.

Anybody care to share their experiences specifically with the blue/green Chromis? I feel that it may just be that these little fish are just weak and can't tolerate treatment well. They go down one by one usually until there is only one left. I think buy this time the formalin takes affect. 24 hours later. I usually do a good dip first, and then put them in the QT with maintenance dose. I'm fixing to try another batch of fish. I've been buying 7-10 at $4.99 each and loosing most of them. I tired other treatments as well. I think I may hyper-oxygenate the water with this next batch. Kinda wondering if the Formalin is depleting the oxygen too much. I've never had it affect any other fish though. Same tank...same doses. I've also noticed the UM seems to be very resistant to even doubled the recommended doses of 37% Formalin. Snorvich seems to discourage anybody from even keeping this species. So I'm assuming he knows just how difficult they are to cure from UM. One thing is for sure, you don't want to get this junk in your DT. I'm buying them where I know it's already in the system so I can experiment with treating it. Ohh and BTW...I've already done a skin scrap and scoped it. It's definitely Uronema.

melypr1985

totally addicted
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0