What is Lanthanum?

drstratton

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm currently cycling my tank and posted my tank parameters, my phosphate levels are .44. Someone suggested that since I don't have any fish in my tank yet that I should use Lanthanum to help avoid a lot of problems. What is it, how do you use it, should I use it? I did a search and really didn't find a lot on the product.

Thanks in advance!

Mike in CT

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It's a chemical widely used in pools to reduce phosphates and also in aquariums. I am not an expert but it makes phosphates precipitate out of the water. Most people use a skimmer or dose into a filter sick so that the solids are filtered out by the sock. A lot of public aquariums use it because it makes the most sense for them instead of having to use huge amounts of gfo.
Melev, who is a member is the local expert on here I believe.
#@melev

Reefing Madness

Carbon Doser
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
SeaKlear, which you dose by the capful
Brighwells Phosphate E, instructions on the bottle, of which you will need way more than SeaKlear.
Melev

ecreef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
A word of caution on it's use near Zebrasoma tangs, they have a high sensibility to it, used in excess or without the proper measures may let it get into fish gills and damage them.

Lost 4 zebrasomas that way !!

OP
OP
drstratton

drstratton

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thank you both for the quick response. I will get some SeKlear and get going on this as soon as I can.

Just so I can know what to expect, will this affect the cycling process.

Thank you!

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0