Your Resident Electrician for all your electrical questions!

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself (DIY)' started by Young Frankenstein, May 12, 2012.

  1. Brew12

    Brew12 Well-Known Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Article Contributor Partner Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    3,527
    Likes Received:
    4,813
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    I wouldn't recommend doing that. It would be acceptable to do per the NEC if you made the splice in a properly listed enclosure. It may not be per code based on your local codes. I would either cut back the old cable and run it intact to the location you wanted the new receptacle or run an entire new cable from your breaker panel to the receptacle location.
    I would then match the receptacle to what the air compressor is designed to use.
     
    Ramasule likes this.
  2. Floyd R Turbo

    Floyd R Turbo Turbo's Aquatics R2R Supporter Gold Sponsors Toys For Kids 2016 Article Contributor Partner Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    820
    Location:
    WDM, Iowa
    This answers a big question for me, one situation I was looking at was a 200g+ tank with 2x external Iwaki pumps that has been blowing one pump after another over 6 months, first a skimmer pump, then an algae scrubber pump, then 2 power heads, then another (new) scrubber pump...I figured it has to be some kind of leaky electrical device that is the culprit, either that or just really bad luck. So I didn't want to put the Iwakis on GFCI but everything else, yes. Looks like I can do that plus add the grounding probe and be OK...yes?
     
  3. Brew12

    Brew12 Well-Known Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Article Contributor Partner Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    3,527
    Likes Received:
    4,813
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    I don't think you are ever worse off by adding a grounding probe. The range of faults that could be made worse by a grounding probe is very small.

    I would be more worried about your home electrical system. I would check a few things. First, I would make sure you don't have a large voltage drop from however you are powering your pumps. If you have corrosion in a receptacle it can cause a high resistance which will drop voltage. This will cause your pumps to pull more current and can cause premature failure. If you run your equipment off of a power strip the easiest way to check for this is taking a voltage reading at an unused outlet on it with everything running.
    A less likely problem could be with your homes neutral connection. Having your lights flicker when you start a vacuum cleaner or an electric clothes dryer is a pretty common sign of this condition.
     
    Ramasule likes this.
  4. Floyd R Turbo

    Floyd R Turbo Turbo's Aquatics R2R Supporter Gold Sponsors Toys For Kids 2016 Article Contributor Partner Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    820
    Location:
    WDM, Iowa
    It's actually in a restaurant. No problems for years and then one after another
     
  5. Brew12

    Brew12 Well-Known Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Article Contributor Partner Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    3,527
    Likes Received:
    4,813
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    I would definitely check for a voltage drop feeding the equipment then. If it has been in place for years it is very possible to be a corrosion issue. Possibly inside the receptacle itself.
     
    Ramasule likes this.
  6. Joey waid

    Joey waid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    881
    Likes Received:
    474
    Location:
    Warner Robins Ga..
    We had a problem more than once where transformers on the pole outside would be going bad and taking out all kinds of stuff.
     
    Ramasule and Brew12 like this.
  7. Ramasule

    Ramasule Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    346
    Lot of fluorescent lighting? Sounds like Power Quality issue as well.
     
    Brew12 and Joey waid like this.
  8. Floyd R Turbo

    Floyd R Turbo Turbo's Aquatics R2R Supporter Gold Sponsors Toys For Kids 2016 Article Contributor Partner Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    820
    Location:
    WDM, Iowa
    LED - Reefbreeders. The first thing to go was the RKL. Kept resetting/rebooting over and over. Replaced that. Then the skimmer pump shorted, that one I discovered as I was reaching into the tank to take out a bad power head. Replaced that pump, everything was fine for a while. Then scrubber pump, another power head, another scrubber pump, something like that....old die-hard Tunze power heads with the kill-your-finger magnets and Jebao WPs are the power heads that fried. I think one of the Tunze PHs is still in there, the WPs all fried (the control panels) now there is a Sicce Voyager in there, last I heard still working...just an odd set of occurrences
     
  9. Brew12

    Brew12 Well-Known Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Article Contributor Partner Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    3,527
    Likes Received:
    4,813
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    I'm pretty sure he was referring to the building lighting, not the tank lighting. ;)

    Having a large number of fluorescent lights in a building with not much other load can cause power quality issues. Specifically voltage spikes (which can break down insulation) and higher order harmonics (generate heat).
     
    Ramasule likes this.
  10. Ramasule

    Ramasule Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    346
    I'm talking the whole restaurant.
     
    Brew12 likes this.
  11. Floyd R Turbo

    Floyd R Turbo Turbo's Aquatics R2R Supporter Gold Sponsors Toys For Kids 2016 Article Contributor Partner Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,303
    Likes Received:
    820
    Location:
    WDM, Iowa
    Oh yeah sorry...tables are mostly LED or incandescent, kitchen I'm pretty sure is T8.
     
  12. Ramasule

    Ramasule Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    346
    I would either,
    Call the utility and ask for a power quality assessment
    Rent a power quality meter
    Hire an electrician to do a power quality assesment
     
    Joey waid likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...