Zoa eating worms and other parasites??

Babygecko1233

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello,
Im new to the forum. First things first...i have a small 6 gallon tank with great led white and blue lights perfect for growing zoas. My only problem is....somethings eating my new zoas... 2 parasites i do believe. I will try to take pictures of these sneaky pest. My only issue one of them only comes out when theres no lights on at all. So it will be harder for me to get a picture of that preditor.

The night predator looks like maybe 6 hair thin neon redish orange worms...they freak me out.

The other predator thats out at all times are very very small clearish whitish tenticle like things that seem to be stretching out and brabbing stuff from the water. I know these are zoa predators because my colonie that the predators are vacating in are shriveling and losing color. Anyone have any ideas??? Im new at this but i love my zoas!! We also have 2 tube anenomes and 2 beadlet anenomes as well as 2 baby sargent majors.
Mind you im new at this. Please no critisism... Ik my tanks to small...i have a 20 gallon currently being set up. Please please help.

DeniseAndy

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Did you dip the zoas? You will need to get them out into some saltwater and dip them with peroxide and some flatworm exit. That is my suggestion on dip. Others use Bayer, search that one for instructions. This will have to be done multiple times about 5 days apart to end the lifecycle (if eggs are present).

OP
OP
Babygecko1233

Babygecko1233

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So they wont hurt my zoas. What about the white small tenticle like things flowing everywhere next to my zoas? My boss (salt water tank maintanance) kills these pest off his zoas with calcium but we still dont know what they are. They spread to my already established zoas this worries me. As well as the crabs.

saltyfilmfolks

Lights! Camera! Reef!