Abandoned Hurricane Aquarium: Help Temper My Expectations

Zakary2003

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Tldr; I was hit by two hurricanes and my school kicked me out for an entire month. My tank was left behind. What should I expect to see when I return?

Hey everyone!

I'm a college student in the Tampa Bay Area in Florida. My college is a marine science college literally right on the Tampa Bay. We were hit by Hurricane Helene and then again by Hurricane Milton, and our school forced us to evacuate and closed down after the catastrophic damages. It reopens in a week.

My 20 gallon mixed reef tank was left behind because I was only given 36 hours to make evacuation plans and I didn't expect to be gone this long. I couldn't bring the tank with me. My tank has been totally abandoned since September 27th. My ATO water reservoir containing RODI water and Kalkwasser was due to be empty today but might have emptied sooner due to the backup bubbler I have running in case we lost power. My fish feeder will likely run out soon. I'm not allowed to return until Saturday, October 26th (6 days from now).

I know my equipment stayed working during the first storm because I was able to get a professor on campus to check on it for me after Helene, but he didn't do anything other than ensure everything was turned back on. I have no idea what is working after the second storm or what survived in between the two.

What should I expect to return to? I have lots of coral variety ranging from pest corals like kenya tree, gsp, and xenia to LPS like favites, micromussa, avans, and euphylia, and even SPS like montis, pavona, and acros. I only have three fish, two clowns and a yasha goby, and all three eat pellets. I have 2 rock flower anemones and a bubble tip anemone. I have 3 sexy shrimp and a candy pistol shrimp. I'm not sure if the anemones or shrimps will eat the pellets or not.