Dinos or diatoms?

Zack19919853

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Can someone tell me if this is diatoms or Dino’s? I’m new to the hobby. My tank is 1 month old.

IMG_0831.jpeg IMG_0832.jpeg

Formulator

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m pretty sure that is dino based on the snotty appearance and bubbles. Diatoms look more “dusty”. A microscope will tell you for sure if you can get your hands on one. Sometimes public libraries have them for rent. The cheap kids ones are also good enough if you want to buy one.

OP
OP
Z

Zack19919853

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m pretty sure that is dino based on the snotty appearance and bubbles. Diatoms look more “dusty”. A microscope will tell you for sure if you can get your hands on one. Sometimes public libraries have them for rent. The cheap kids ones are also good enough if you want to buy one.
So the brown stuff on the rocks are like dust when I use a turkey baster on it. There’s a film on the sand when some bubbles but not as much as it was in above picture now. Could it be cyno? It’s a newer tank only a month old. And I have a uv light coming as well as neophos and neonitro by brightwells and a siphon. Fish are doing fine snails are good as well as the hermits and cleaner shrimp. Corals are also doing good. So idk. I need to check phosphates. If it’s at appropriate levels and not 0 would that indicate maybe a different bacteria other than Dino’s?

Formulator

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The only way to really know for sure is to use a microscope, but if your phosphate is zero that would be a strong indicator of dinos. Diatoms are also extremely common in a tank that young though. I can tell you it is definitely not cyano.

OP
OP
Z

Zack19919853

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0