Help with choosing LEDs

sjfishguy

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am looking for opinions for a specific situation. I have been keeping SPS for over 20 years. Started with MH, then T5s, then tried LEDs and they were crap 10 years ago, went back to T5s. Currently have 120g mixed reef with a lot of acros out growing the tank. Also a 10 year old, 18” blue derasa clam that is also outgrowing the tank. Planning on a 265g custom in wall build, 60”long X 34” high X 34” deep, there is a small room behind the tank. I currently have a 48” 8x54w ATI powermodule that is a beast, but also produces a lot of heat that I think will be too hot when I move it to the room. So I want to convert to LEDs now on the 120 (48x24x24) to give everything time to adjust and then move over to the new tank. But I want use the same LEDs or add to it when I move to the 265g. I do not want to supplement with bars, strips, or T5s that defeats the point to me. Another factor is a run a very balanced whiteish tank. Like 14k look or even 12k. I dislike the actinic/purplish look/hue. I do not want radions, don’t want to deal with the garbage app with all the problems and pay a premium for it. I tried reefi uno 2.1 pros but all the power of the fixture is the RB and violets, which I don’t like the look. So I can’t get the par I need from them because they don’t hasv enough whites.

I have been looking a 48” reefbreeder because it has a lot of whites but is that enough when I go to a 60” tank? Or get two 24” now, mounted perpendicular, then add another perpendicular when I get the 60” tank (which is also 34” wide). Other fixture options? No chinese black boxes. I need a fixture with a lot of white. Unique situation, thanks for the opinions

SudzFD

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0