HELP!!!!

mihali

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m new to the reefing hobby and have experienced some deaths within my new tank. It’s around two months old 7 gallons (I will be upgrading to a 50 to 60 gal)
Current stocking: three zombie snails three turbo snails a very very very small clownfish a regal damselfish and a green coral goby. I first started off with three hermit crabs, three zombie snails, a serpent star and a regal damsel fish. All the hermit crabs died. One got killed by the other one and then the two ones that were alive Just stayed in there shell until they died. Then the serpent star shed off all its legs and died. Ammonia and nitrite were a little bit elevated. All the snails and fish are doing fine now what could be the cause of this?

Mr. Mojo Rising

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Can we see a pic of the tank, it will really give us a lot of info?
How is the water oxygenated?
Are you using tap water or rodi water?
What are the parameters?
We need more info.....

OP
OP
mihali

mihali

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m not home at the moment. I’ll be home on Thursday or Friday. I thought that because I was not gonna have coral or anemones I could use tapwater but I quickly learnt that that still wasn’t a good idea for fowlr tanks. So I got RO water from the store and did a half water change I’m gonna keep doing more to changes with RO water tank is completely RO it’s oxygenated by a small internal filter and a sponge filter the ammonia was 0.75 ppm nitrite 0 ppm nitrate 40 ppm and ph 8.2 salinity 1.026 temp 25 celcius

OP
OP
mihali

mihali

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
But as my LFS has very reasonable prices for soft coral, I have decided to make the choice to get soft coral when I upgrade my tank and when I fix whatever going on with my tank

OP
OP
mihali

mihali

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Would something like this be good