Is it OK to have 0 of Ammonia, nitrite, & nitrate?

scope2reef

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Newbie here, appreciate your help.
Got a used 30g tank 1 week ago, with live rock, some corals, and a single fish. The previous owner had the tank for 1 year. I setup the tank in my house with 50% previous tank water and 50% new water.

The day I setup the tank, the ammonia, nitrite and nitrate were all 0. I used 2 different test kits - API and Salifert.
Temp 80-82
pH 8.2
Salinity 1.024-1.025

Now I week later, the parameters are still the same. Am I supposed to worry about the 0 nitrate?

The corals I have are - lot of xenia, some kenya tree, GSP, cabbage leather, few zoas, and 1 hammer. Fish is pajama cardinal. I tried to feed the fish yesterday for the first time with some flakes I got from the previous owner. He swallowed a couple of flakes but spit them out immediately. Overall, the fish and corals are healthy. Only issue is algae that came with the tank. 4 hermit crabs are there but not able to keep up with the algae.

Any advice? Just wait and see 1 more week about the 0 nitrate? I am OK with that, only worried about the fish not eating. Thanks for help.

TangerineSpeedo

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Cardinals are picky eaters, maybe try some mysis shrimp. If the tank was established you may not have any ammonia if the move went well, and if you do, it might be so minor that the test kits you use will not pick it up. Don't worry about nitrites. You probably do have some nitrates but the algae is using it. One fish is not going to create much waste. I would remove as much algae by hand, maybe get a lawnmower blenny as your next fish, a tuxedo urchin can help to, or a turbo snail.

OP
OP
S

scope2reef

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0