is there a "best" filter roller yet?

thatmanMIKEson

Reefing ain't easy$
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
hey all this is a filter roller inquiry and since I have no experience with them I figured it's best to ask the community.

currently im running a regular sump with filter socks. ( it's alot of fun, has been for years;) )

I am re plumbing and moving a tank so I am taking the opportunity to update the sump and plumbing along with the current stand.

this is a 120g tank sps heavy with the need to run low nutrients and have mechanical filtration along with my protein skimmer.

no diy :)

Anyway I'd love to hear any and all input on filter rollers good bad and ugly. if you like them dislike them, a favorite brand or even a story of a friend of a friend would be great! I know there's lots of threads similar but as time goes on and more and more people use them opinions change id love to hear the latest thanks everyone:) :) R2R4EVR

Jmp998

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I like my Clarisea 5000. It does not have some of the features of some other rollers (web notifications/remote control/whatever etc), but it works well so far and has a much smaller footprint so I did not have to make major sump modifications to plumb it in. I never had good luck with reusable socks, Reef Diapers were a big improvement, but the roller is just easy and consistent. Worth the cost for me.

OP
OP
thatmanMIKEson

thatmanMIKEson

Reefing ain't easy$
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I like my Clarisea 5000. It does not have some of the features of some other rollers (web notifications/remote control/whatever etc), but it works well so far and has a much smaller footprint so I did not have to make major sump modifications to plumb it in. I never had good luck with reusable socks, Reef Diapers were a big improvement, but the roller is just easy and consistent. Worth the cost for me.