Light spectrums and coral coloration

Raphael Dalmeida

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi guys,

I've read the following article:

And as much as I understood the principle I'd like to confirm with the more knowledgeable people here in the forum.

Currently I have 4 pop bloom lights that are very similar spectrum to the Red Sea 90 leds. It's a huge amount of Blue light, and a bit of Cyan, White and Moonlight.

Based on what I've read on this article, to better excite RFP, BFP and YFP and chromo proteins certain spectrums and intensity are required.

So I'm wondering if it would be beneficial to supplement my lighting with additional LEDs on

UV 395-400nm,
Green and Cyan spectrums
and Amber light through Warm White Light (3000-4500k).

As much as my corals are growing and doing well, I feel like the coloration is not quite there.

Help me out here hehe I'm no expert.

Dburr1014

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks for sharing that article.

I know I'm running full spectrum, to 3-hour ramp up that starts with blue and ends with a very white light for 6 hours and then it ramps down opposite of ramping up.

This is what my peek looks like;

20230414_155312.jpg

It's like I need more green myself.
I'm just going to follow along for now.

ISpeakForTheSeas

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi guys,

I've read the following article:

And as much as I understood the principle I'd like to confirm with the more knowledgeable people here in the forum.

Currently I have 4 pop bloom lights that are very similar spectrum to the Red Sea 90 leds. It's a huge amount of Blue light, and a bit of Cyan, White and Moonlight.

Based on what I've read on this article, to better excite RFP, BFP and YFP and chromo proteins certain spectrums and intensity are required.

So I'm wondering if it would be beneficial to supplement my lighting with additional LEDs on

UV 395-400nm,
Green and Cyan spectrums