My algae scrubber just grows bubble algae??

anthonymckay

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I’ve been running an algae scrubber for a couple months now, and initially it started out as hair algae. But the last month it’s been 99% bubble algae on it. what the heck! Also kinda interesting as I don’t have bubble algae in my display tank. The bubbles also end up forming a long tube bubble rather than a normal round bubble because of the water flowing down the screen rather than being submerged in water. Not sure how efficient bubble algae is at nutrient export compared to dense hair algae... Anyone else experienced this with algae scrubbers?

IMG_1224.jpeg
IMG_1226.jpeg

KrisReef

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How does the main tank look (algae or no?)

I have not seen this before but algae will grow where it can.

Hot2na

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thats GOOD growth ! Harvest and let regrow...eventually the scrubber will out compete the DT for unwanted nutrients ..I run my scrubber RDP @ 16 hrs /day ...

Seansea

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Allmine only grows hair but that is interesting. Wouldnt think anything could outcompete hair algae. As long as it's there and not in tank it's beautiful thing

OP
OP
anthonymckay

anthonymckay

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thats GOOD growth ! Harvest and let regrow...eventually the scrubber will out compete the DT for unwanted nutrients ..I run my scrubber RDP @ 16 hrs /day ...
It's been running in my tank for quite a few months at this point, I harvest it every 2 weeks. I run it RDP 18hrs a day, I would love to say I've noticed a difference in my nutrients, but honestly I haven't. I still have hair algae growing in a few spots in the tank as well.

Hot2na

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
GIVE IT TIME....the scrubber will win out eventually