Red Sea Reef Mature Cycling Problems

Patryk P.

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey Reefers, I am very new to saltwater aquariums. I began cycling Red Sea 250 about a week and a half ago. I am using the Red Sea Reef Mature Kit Program to cycle my tank and it says at Day 10, My Ammonia and Nitrite should be at 0. And my Nitrate at 10. I am on day 11. I have been using everything in the kit and have been doing as told by the manual.
My Current Tank Levels:
Ammonia 0.3
Nitrite: 0.05
Nitrate: Around 40-50

However, when I first started my ammonia was at 1.2 and Nitrite at 0.2. Nitrate was still at around 40-50.
On day 10 I was supposed to add a CUC like some snails but I didn't because there was no algae and there still is no algae.
I am supposed to add a fish on day 14 so I will add two clowns then.
Questions:
1. Should I still add a small cleanup crew even with no visible algae or should get a CUC with my clowns?
2. Is it ok if my Ammonia and Nitrite are still not 0?
3. Why is my Nitrate so high and what should I do about it?
4. If my tank is not fully cycled by the end of the program, should I add some other beneficial bacteria like Dr. Tims brand if my Ammonia and Nitrites are still not zero and Nitrate has not gone down?

Spare time

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You can do one of two things

1. Wait it out until ammonia is gone (and nitrite too but nitrite is harmless)

2. Get some biospira and fritz, give it a few days, then get fish

Spare time

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Nitrite present can interfere with nitrate readings, making them appear high when in reality they are not.

Wait to add CUC until there is algae. Hermit crabs are fine though since they can eat what you feed the fish.

In the mean time, consider cycling a QT tank or buying pre-quarantined fish.

OP
OP
Patryk P.

Patryk P.

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0