Very large 600 gallon Acrylic tank question

Om84

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Hi
I’m in the process of purchasing a house and incidentally the owner was also a reefer and has a built in 600 g reef with a fish room. Aquarium is acrylic but was custom built by Tenecor in 2009. It is currently set up with probably 1000 lb live rock (no corals anymore). I’m worried about the tank being 15 years old though. The tank is 48” in height which is insane as I never imagined that would be the dimension of my future tank. That’s another topic but right now my concern is should I be planning to replace the tank or will this tank give me another 10-15 years? I have little experience with acrylic so what should I look out for?

littlefoxx

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Post some pictures of it! Everything I read on them said that they lasted way longer than glass. Maybe someone who has a bigger one can tell you what to look out for!

OP
OP
O

Om84

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Gonna have to take detailed pics later but right now looking mainly for info I need to make the decision on question above. I’ll try to get pics of the seams as well.

littlefoxx

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Gonna have to take detailed pics later but right now looking mainly for info I need to make the decision on question above. I’ll try to get pics of the seams as well.
The pictures would help answer the question

Jimbo327

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I think the bigger problem is the 48" height.

But as for the seams, if the tank was built by Tenecor, I would reach out to them as they are still in business. Proper acrylic seams are chemically bonded, so it is very strong...more than silicone. I would take photos of all the seams and show it to Tenecor for their feedback.

Bruttall

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi