55gal Reef Tank. What fish to get?

Adam_T

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I'm relatively new to the SW scene and just started my 55gal build.

So far I have:

55 gal All-Glass aquarium w/ HOB power filter (lame)
1 150w heater
Marineland Magnum 350 Canister filter
2 24'' Standard Flourecent Light Fixtures (came with the 55gal starter kit)

I am currently in the process of ordering my T5HO lighting (current usa sundial or nova extreme pro...hard to decide), as well as my protein skimmer.

My 55lbs of Live Sand goes in tomorrow as well as my water, and this Saturday I pick up my 75# of well established Live Rock from a fellow member on these forums.

I have been doing a lot of research lately regarding my setup and how to do things, but my big question is what kinds/types of fish can I keep in here? I'm going to keep it a FOWLR tank for roughly 6 months and then slowly add soft coral and some inverts in there (no hard corals at all). Anyway...

What are some easy care fish I can add to this tank with it being only 55gal and what types of fish can be compatible with one another?

Oh and I'm really set on getting a snowflake eel for my tank, but I read...

Reef Compatible: with Caution

why with caution? Do I have to beware of keeping certain types of Coral? Also...what type of fish will I not be able to have while keeping a Snowflake Eel?

It's a lot of questions but hopefully I'll get some answers to a few of them. I am still doing a lot of research and have a book on it but I like to get opinions on the forums as well.

Thanks for any responses ahead of time :Thumbs up:

acanman

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0