Cycling with cured rock

joewong93

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all, i am new to this hobby & started to cycle a new 20gallon nano tank with cured rock and live sand.
Basically I just followed the aquarium owner’s instruction using microbacter7 and brightwell biofuel only.
This is day 4 and the test kit is not picking up any ammonia or nitrate.
Is these products sufficient to cycle the tank? I feel like nothing is going on here

65BCDB54-8CF8-4D7D-8B6E-F0E4F6005416.jpeg

Garf

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all, i am new to this hobby & started to cycle a new 20gallon nano tank with cured rock and live sand.
Basically I just followed the aquarium owner’s instruction using microbacter7 and brightwell biofuel only.
Is these products sufficient to cycle the tank? I feel like nothing is going on here

So this is liverock, from a running tank? Is the sand from a running tank also?

EZKLR

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
need to introduce some ammonia load to see if it coverts to nitrite and then to nitrates. Unless you have some fish in there, you'll have to introduce ammonia another way. if you introduce and nitrites stay at zero, you're good to start slowly adding fish

Garf

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
No the rock is transported wet, a lot of things has been cleaned out. & the sand comes from a sealed plastic bag
I would expect that you have bypassed the traditional cycle. When are you planning on get livestock? You could ghost feed it first to see if the ammonia jumps (just to be certain) but maybe not necessary. I’m assuming you’re not going to quarantine so finding a quality reliable source is important.

427HISS

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0