10 Gallon Reef/MacroAlgae Tank

GirlWithFish

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello! I have finally decided on a 10 gallon for my first saltwater tank. I know the size makes it less than ideal for a first tank but I have a lot of experience with freshwater from planted tropical tanks to cold water tanks. I currently have 7 freshwater tanks so I don’t have space for more than 10 gallons right now haha. The main focus of the tank is going to be macroalgae with live rock, for now it will be FOWLR. I’m going to hold off on coral for a bit until I can upgrade the light system and protein skimmer and such. The tank will be outfitted with a full spectrum LED light for the macroalgae (will maybe use a fluval plant light as I love that light). The tank has a topfin 30 with a fluval sponge inside (not my fav filter but I have it lying around and it does the job, I also like the adjustable flow). I am planning on adding two turbo snails, thor ambionensis shrimp, an pom pom crab, and a lettuce nudibranch (once the tank has aged for a few months). My question is, do these inhabitants sounds reasonable? I understand the unique needs of the nudibranch. Would you suggest any fish for a 10 gallon- would a pair of clownfish be suitable (I’m getting mixed results on that). The other fish I have fallen in love with is a banggai cardinalfish- would I be able to have one of these (instead of the clowns)? If these aren’t reasonable, I am very open to any suggestions or ideas! Thanks :)

CoastalTownLayabout

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Banggai look great in macro tanks and are a nice peaceful fish. Every man and his dog has a couple of clowns, always nice to see something different.

OP
OP
GirlWithFish

GirlWithFish

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0