All for Reef Dosing Question

Poseidon83

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Question for those using AFR. I’ve been using the product for several months now. I have a 105 gallon tank that’s lightly stocked (few SPS frags) and several LPS corals and softies.

I use the powder AFR mix and mix according to instructions. Right now, I dose 47mL around 6am. My calcium is hovering around 390-400. My Alk is 7.4-8.1 depending on time of day.

Personally, I’d prefer my calcium to be around 410 and Alk in the 8+ range consistently. Should I increase the dose of AFR? Should I manually dose to increase the individual comments? Any recommendations are greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

OP
OP
Poseidon83

Poseidon83

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I dose more if I want to raise alk.
I guess I’m just concerned about the overall amount. That amount doesn’t seem excessive?

Is it better to dose based on the calcium or alkalinity? I know the alkalinity release is delayed with AFR.

jrill

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I guess I’m just concerned about the overall amount. That amount doesn’t seem excessive?

Is it better to dose based on the calcium or alkalinity? I know the alkalinity release is delayed with AFR.
I'm not sure which is best but I dose based on alk. Calcium has always stayed within range.

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It is not clear that talk is an appropriate measure (or at least doesn't have the same meaning) when dosing AFR, since much of it may be used by corals directly inside (according to TM) and never shows as alk.

OP
OP
Poseidon83

Poseidon83

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It is not clear that talk is an appropriate measure (or at least doesn't have the same meaning) when dosing AFR, since much of it may be used by corals directly inside (according to TM) and never shows as alk.