Am I Feeding Enough

The Coug

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m new to reefing but bought an established tank with decent sized fish. I’ve got a Foxface (4-5”), blue tang (3-4”), coral beauty (3”), cardinal (3”) and two new clowns (1”) I just added.

I feed approximately 1 cube total of frozen food daily and a quarter sheet of nori. I use a variety of frozen foods alternating between Rods Food, LRS Reef Feenzy, Mysis, Brine and occasionally soak in garlic or selcon.

FE06FDF2-412C-4F9A-972A-CD2DC53C543C.jpeg BE17F2FC-DAD3-46A4-BE3A-65AA95295AAA.jpeg

OP
OP
T

The Coug

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Definitely, they get everything. Mostly just scraps for the coral.

TriggerFinger

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
From what I can see the coral looks healthy and you don’t have nuisance algae over growing everything so I would say you got it about right! The fish aren’t real clear in the pics but they don’t look thin to me.

Greg P

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Do you test NO3 and PO4?
I ask as I'd be feeding them New Life Spectrum pellets for lunch, then the frozen for dinner, or vice-versa. Up to you.

I have a 3.5" yellow tang, 2" coral beauty, 2" PJ cardinal, 2.5" starry blennie and 2" springer's dottyback. At lunch they get enough pellets that it takes them 3-4 minutes to eat them all, then a cube for dinner (or some NLS flakes), and twice a week a 1/4 sheet of nori.

I need to dose NO3 and PO4, so I'm not overfeeding, but I do have a decent amount of SPS that process those 2.

Essentially, I feel you are underfeeding. Try upping the amounts and watch your nutrient levels.
Underfed fish can become aggressive with each other, eat things in the tank you don't want them to eat, and also become unhealthy.