Are these flukes?

litsoh

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’ve been monitoring a wrasse that I had ship in a little rough for the last couple of days that hasn’t been eating and showing signs of a spinal injury. It’s been in an acclimation box in my display tank since it’s had some difficulty swimming. I’m still pretty new to saltwater so I didn’t really know what I was looking for until I noticed what looked to be a loose scale on its head. After a freshwater dip a couple of flakes came off of the fish that I initially thought were just scales. I really hope I’m wrong but could these be flukes? I’m going to be getting some prazipro tomorrow just in case but I fear I might have to treat the whole DT.

7A28BDB6-04A8-4A49-9A45-962240DC9259.jpeg 02813554-AEAE-4E86-A468-D2B9AC464046.jpeg

Jay Hemdal

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes - those are Neobenedenia flukes. They are fairly commonly seen in newly acquired fish. Good dealers will try to manage them through treatments. Even one egg can start up an infection in your tank. Don’t treat right away though. Prazipro does NOT kill the eggs, and these can take up to 12 days to hatch. I would wait a week, then dose the DT and then dose it two more times, 8 days apart. Add good aeration, remove carbon and run your skimmer but don’t collect the skimmate during treatment. Most people do a 25% water change before the second and third treatments.

However, the spinal injury symptoms is possibly this: https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/unknown-neurological-wrasse-disease-unwd.901856/

Jay

OP
OP
L

litsoh

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m running some chemipure blue at the moment, so once I start the prazi I should remove that from my filtration? Also since the flukes are gone what’s the prognosis on the wrasse in the hopes that it isn’t UNWD. Could it possibly perk up and start eating since some irritants are gone?