Can't get Alk dosing correct - what am I missing?

jkobel

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been using an Apex and BRS dosers for about 2 years and still cant seem to get this right.

Today, i am dosing about 52.8ml of two-part Alk mix daily (two weeks ago raised it from 36.3ml/daily) and I'm not able to keep the levels stable. However, my math tells me I'm dosing correctly.

A few months ago i shut down the dosers and watch the levels drop for a week to get a sense for what was actually getting consumed. I took the daily average consumption and set my dosers based on that - it didnt work.

Then, while still dosing and readings dropping similarly to what is in the graph below, I did the same calculation to come up with what i thought i needed to add additionally and increased the dose to what I'm at today. The consumption is still higher than the dose.

What am I doing wrong? Is the math broken or am I not considering a variable?

Thanks.

system is 140 gal
ph-7.88
alk - 6.06
ca - 423
mg - 1360
sal - 1.025

2024-04-02_13-38-14.png

Naekuh

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Have you tried a manual test with a different tester?
Sometimes Trident at the last bit of reagent can give out false results.

OP
OP
jkobel

jkobel

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
yes, I've been checking everything with Hanna. Been testing with Hanna 3 times and averaging the results. Also been calibrating the trident against the tank water to remove another faulty input

topjimmy

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Are you dosing into a high flow area, and at different times for ALK and Cal?

Js.Aqua.Project

Reef Addict
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
In line with what Randy said, I would let the Apex help you via the Trident (trust but verify).

You could add a line to the outlets for the Alk doser that is something like:
If AlkxY > Z then OFF