Chromis Sick? Please Help!

mdock

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello. I am new to the hobby. I have a blue-green chromis that has a white spot up near the dorsal fin. It showed up first this morning. I have had him for about a month. I don’t have a QT and fear I am about to see the consequences of that… he has been swimming around and eating fine. The tank has a gravel/sand bottom and live rock. There are two clowns, a royal gramma, a mandarin goby, 5 snails, a cleaner shrimp, and another chromis in the tank. The other chromis doesn’t have issues. There is also a god of war zoa and a type of hammer coral.

The tank is a 40 gallon aqua top. It has been running since April.

These are the measurements as of today:
Temp - 81
pH - 8.2
Ammonia - .2
Salt - 1.025
Nitrates - 10
Nitrites - 0
Alkalinity - 8

I turned the heater down to try to bring it back to 79 and am going to do water changes to bring the ammonia back down. The ammonia read 0 at the end of May.

I have tried to find out what is wrong with the chromis. Is it ich? Or uronema? It’s not red at all. Maybe another fish took a bite at it or it scratched itself on a rock? Would I be best off just saying goodbye to save the other fish?

Please help. Any advice would be greatly appreciated! I tried to get the best picture of it and to give a sense of the overall tank. The spot is right at the base of the front of the dorsal fin.

IMG_5769.jpeg
IMG_5772.jpeg
IMG_5775.jpeg
IMG_5777.jpeg
IMG_5778.jpeg

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
14   0   0