Clownfish has white patches!

Krysbam

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm fairly new to this. I previously had a thriving saltwater tank for 3 years. This one is fairly new, approximately 6 months now. In the past week 4 of my 7 fish have died after doing a water change. I purchase premixed ro/di from my lfs. I should have done this before but after losing fish so quickly I decided to test their water and found amonia. Then tested salinity and it was over 1.032. The last fish to go was one of my clowns and I noticed both looked like they had a film on them and losing patches of color on their stripes. Lfs gave me ichx to treat for brook in my QT. I just lowered salinity in QT to 1.020 but any advice would be appreciated because I'm not sure if I'm doing the right things or even doing them correctly. I posted a slomo video because it was hard to gwt a good picture with him moving. Side note...female died male moved to QT and I just found clownfish eggs in a rock in my DT!

Attachments

• 20220901_020309.mp4
    64.8 MB

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
14   0   0
Can’t open video on my phone
Any still pics under white lighting?

Euphyllia97

Empty wallet member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Can't see the video, but from your description and the fact it is killing your fish, I bet you have brooklynella in your tank. Google for Brooklynella or clownfish disease. Treatment is required and might not be able to help your fish anymore. You will have to run your tank for a certain amount of days (3 months I believe) without any fish to get rid of it.

You will have to use formalin to treat your fish, otherwise I do not give them a high chance of survival

Jay Hemdal

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to Reef2Reef!