Convict Tang with unusual marking

threebuoys

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
#fishmedic

Anyone have an idea what the black line on my convict's belly might be? It's on both sides. I've had the convict for over two years. Have not added any new fish to the tank in about a year. All went through the QT protocol.

I haven't paid close attention to the convict recently, and only noticed the markings within the last few days. Behavior and eating habits have seen no changes. Hoping it's just skin pigmentation, but I've not seen anything like this before. The black spot adjacent to the next to last vertical bar is definitely skin pigmentation. Been there since I got the convict.
20230621_155119_resized.jpg

fishguy242

Cronies..... INSERT BUILD THREAD BADGE HERE !!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Looks healthy ,thinking nice markings... :)
But I'm no expert... @Jay Hemdal ?

MnFish1

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
#fishmedic

Anyone have an idea what the black line on my convict's belly might be? It's on both sides. I've had the convict for over two years. Have not added any new fish to the tank in about a year. All went through the QT protocol.

I haven't paid close attention to the convict recently, and only noticed the markings within the last few days. Behavior and eating habits have seen no changes. Hoping it's just skin pigmentation, but I've not seen anything like this before. The black spot adjacent to the next to last vertical bar is definitely skin pigmentation. Been there since I got the convict.
To me the fish looks a little thin. How big is it? Juveniles can have spots like this. How long did it take to occur/appear? EdiT - especially if the spot is exactly the same on both sides.

Last edited:
OP
OP
threebuoys

threebuoys

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0