Curing my dry pukani rock advice

Fishflakes

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, im brand new to the saltwater world, but ive had several freshwater cichlid tanks in the past. Ive done a lot of reading concerning curing my pukani rock. I decided against acid since my wife would kill me if i damaged our driveway or garage. I made the decision to do a traditional cure in a 44 gallon brute can with saltwater at 1.026 salinity, a powerhead, and heater. My question, whats the best way to get rid of phosphates and is my salinity level ok? I read 1.026 was best for curing pukani. Im not concerned about starting the cycle necessarily yet until its actually in my 125 gallon tank. And water changes while curing...how often should i do them? Is once every week ok? Thanks is advance!

Brew12

Electrical Gru
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, im brand new to the saltwater world, but ive had several freshwater cichlid tanks in the past. Ive done a lot of reading concerning curing my pukani rock. I decided against acid since my wife would kill me if i damaged our driveway or garage. I made the decision to do a traditional cure in a 44 gallon brute can with saltwater at 1.026 salinity, a powerhead, and heater. My question, whats the best way to get rid of phosphates and is my salinity level ok? I read 1.026 was best for curing pukani. Im not concerned about starting the cycle necessarily yet until its actually in my 125 gallon tank. And water changes while curing...how often should i do them? Is once every week ok? Thanks is advance!
I wouldn't bother with water changes to deal with phosphates. To get the phosphates out of the water you can run GFO through a reactor.

OP
OP
Fishflakes

Fishflakes

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0