Cycling and water parameters question

pwendlandt

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello! As the forum says, I’m new to the saltwater hobby. I’ve been cycling my tank for 23 days now. The light has been on all the time except for today that I turned it on for a few hours. The Ammonium (NH4) has been constantly at 0 I do a test every three days give or take. Same with the NO2, but it’s reading at 0.2. The tank is a 75 L (20 gallon) cube. I do knot have a skimmer my local store gave me some bacteria treatments instead and with that it takes the need of a skimmer all together. The rock is a fake rock and a week ago I added live rock fragments to start colonizing the fake rock. And the sand was live sand. I was told I need to wait for an ammonium peak at one point yet I still haven’t seen it? Perhaps I screwed up the cycling process?? Or am I on the right path? And if so how long to wait to maybe add a small clown fish o a hardy snail/invertebrate? Also what is with cycling without light? I’ve been told by many people to leave it on and others off. Here are a few photos of the tank and the NO2 test.

IMG_3935.jpeg IMG_3649.jpeg IMG_3650.jpeg IMG_3624.jpeg

crazyfishmom

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Did you add any ammonia at the beginning of the cycling process? You need a little bit of ammonia to feed the bacteria that establish the nitrogen cycle. Over time this ammonia is converted to nitrite and then nitrate. The goal is help establish a good amount of this beneficial bacteria. You could potentially also ghost feed the tank by adding a small piece of raw shrimp. As it decays it’ll release ammonia which will help kick start the cycle. Unfortunately, I do not think your tank has actually cycled yet.

Outlaw Corals

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What source of ammonia did you use to start your cycle? And I would strongly suggest not getting a protein skimmer and get yourself an algae scrubber.