Does our hobby affect wild reefs?

ReeferRedSox

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, I’m a newbie and this is my first post!
I’m a long time diver and environmental educator and know that coral reefs globally are in trouble. I can’t help but wonder if our hobby is contributing to that. I see that some but not all of the coral for sale are noted as grown by aquaculture. Are the rest harvested from wild reefs? Most but I imagine not all reefs are protected in some way so can you do that? Are we contributing to the demise of what we love?
Thanks for helping me understand.

piranhaman00

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes both directly and indirectly ( energy).

However, eating fish or any meat really is much much worse. Driving a car or using plastic is worse.

So yes, but everyday life for most people is much worse.

Mr. Mojo Rising

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
nah, reefers are a rare breed, its not a popular hobby. In comparison, freshwater fish keeping is much more practised than reefing. Corporate fishing does so much more damage to the ocean, than our little hobby ever could.

aws2266

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I struggle with this because this hobby is the furthest thing from environmentally friendly but as the previous poster said, there are things we do that hurt the reefs more than our hobby. That said, there are some positives to take away. We're breeding more fish in captivity and as hobbyists, we can educate the public on just how sensitive our reefs are and how important they are to the world.

PeterLL

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It's estimated there are 25,000,000,000 hard coral colonies in the Great Barrier Reef, our harvesting of corals is pretty minimal compared to other threats.