Dwarf seahorse care

Omakoshark

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey, I am new to seahorses, and was wanting some advice on dwarf seahorses. I heard they are harder to care for than other seahorses. The only reason I’d prefer the dwarves is because of tank size and cost. The plan for the tank is to grow lots of macroalgae so pods can live and reproduce to feed the horses. What do you think?

rayjay

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Unfortunately, many have had similar thoughts as you have. However, the dwarfs will very quickly decimate the pod population of the tank so while they can be a great ADDITIONAL source of nutrient, the MAIN source is still going to have to be enriched live brine shrimp nauplii. Some have even used external culture systems to try to supply the dwarfs with pods but pods first of all are not the quickest to reproduce, and second, if they are not of sufficient size then you need an inordinate amount to be of any value nutritionally.
As such, I'd recommend you start off by getting a small amount of brine cysts and go through the process of hatching and pretend enriching for a few weeks to see if that is what you really want to do.
Most people get out of dwarf keeping just for that work alone.

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
14   0   0
Live artemia and even rotifiers will be your best bet for food source as Pods may quickly be consumed. They must be well nourished and feeding is the challenge with this grouping of seahorse.
They live in shallow waters which are subject to tidal changes making them adaptive to water movement in the aquarium although low to moderate flow is best. They live about 2 years and breed easily when good conditions are met such as clean water, lower salinity ( 1.023 range) and water temp of 72-74 degrees (again, typical of yidal temperatures)

Wolf89

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0