Fairy wrasse laying flat heavy breathing in QT

josvanmeer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone,

This is my first time quarantining fish.
Barebottom 10gal tank with tidal 35 filter with ceramic media and powerhead towards the surface for adding oxygen.

I have had a blue headed fairy wrasse and yellow wrasse in there for over a week now. They already went through general cure two doses.
I changes the water 95% and started copper treatment after that. I dosed up to 0.14 cupramine two days ago, fish acted normal, yesterday I upped it to 0.27 tested. Fairy wrasse still acts normal and shy. I checked on them this morning and I find him like this.

What do I do now? He is still breathing but heavy.

9D6B1D8B-4333-489C-8CD9-40854910A4B3.jpeg

kenchilada

Palytoxin Abuser
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Cupramine (ionic copper) is rough on wrasses. Hope someone can help. I would probably try transferring him out of copper but I'm not sure if that's the right call.

Did you check ammonia?

OP
OP
josvanmeer

josvanmeer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ammonia is clear at zero but the copper can mess with that result. I just did another check with the Hanna Copper checker and current levels are at 0.25
I knew to bring the levels up slowly and I am doing that. 4 to 5 days to 0.5 is what I was planning because thats recommended. Now I dont know if I should do copper at all.

OP
OP
josvanmeer

josvanmeer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Also did a full water change besides the bottom bit like two days ago so theres no way in hell theres ammonia in this tank. The ceramic media was cycled from my established system so it can handle two fat tangs in there with normal feeding no problem

OP
OP
josvanmeer

josvanmeer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0